2nd Book Review

Review 2nd book from Nicholas Sparks – Dear John another one of my favourite story.

I feel in love with her when we were together, then fell deeper in love with her in the years we were apart.
I feel in love with her when we were together, then fell deeper in love with her in the years we were apart.

I’ve developed a love/hate relationship with. I love, love, love the first part of the book, and I immediately fell for the main character, John Tyree. But when he gets his Dear John letter, it was all down hill from there, and I have to say I was left in angst. The ending is to some extent depressing, but I do have to give it to Sparks because he paints a realistic picture. However, someone needs to let the man know that he’s writing fiction and sometimes, it’s okay to have a happily ever after. His readers would surely appreciate it.

About the book… John Tyree’s life is spiraling down hill when he decides to join the army. During a leave, he comes home and meets Savannah, and that’s when his life takes a turn. They fall in love, and because of her, he learns how to forge a relationship with his father. He returns to his base in Germany with the hopes of coming home to Savannah when his tour is over. Then 9/11 hits, and he makes a choice that will change his life forever.

Quotes from the books : “You have no idea how much the last few days have meant to me,” I began. “Meeting you has been the best thing that’s ever happened to me.” I hesitated, know that if I stopped now, I’d never be able to say it to anyone. “I love you,” I whispered. “Did you ever imagine something like this?” she wondered aloud. “You and me , I mean?” “No,” I said. “It scares me a little.” My stomach flipped, and all at once, I was sure she didn’t feel the same way. “You dont have to say it back to me,” I began. “That’s not why I said it–” “I know,” she interrupted. “You don’t understand. I wasn’t scared because you told me. I got scared because I wanted to say it, too: I love you, John.”

Leave a Reply

